Hage G. Geingob

Hage Geingob was voted in as president in the November 2014 elections while serving as prime minister.

It was Africa's first electronic ballot, in which voters made their choice using e-voting machines at the 4,000 polling stations across the country.

He succeeded Hifikepunye Pohamba, who steps down at the end of the two terms allowed by the constitution. Dr Geingob, who was born in 1941, became prime minister when Namibia gained independence from South Africa in 1990 and served in that position until 2002.

He became prime minister again in 2012, having served for a spell as minister of trade and industry. In 2007 he was chosen as vice-president of the ruling party and former liberation movement - South West Africa People's Organization (SWAPO) - which has been in power since independence.

He spent several years abroad promoting the idea of independence for what was then known as South West Africa. Following UN-supervised elections in the run-up to independence, he chaired the constituent assembly which drafted the constitution which came into effect with Namibian independence. His doctoral thesis at the University of Leeds, in Britain, was titled "State Formation in Namibia: Promoting Democracy and Good Governance". He gained his PhD in 2004. The president, who shares executive power with the cabinet, is limited to two five-year terms.

Source: The BBC News, March 2015