Past Event

Global Leadership in the 21st Century

November 28, 2017
6:30 PM - 8:00 PM
Event time is displayed in your time zone.
Casa Italiana, Teatro, 1161 Amsterdam Ave., New York, NY 10027
Watch the event video

This World Leaders Forum program features a conversation about the demands facing great leaders among the 2017 Tällberg Global Leaders, and a conversation about the world today between Former UN Deputy Secretary General Jan Eliasson and Vishakha N. Desai, Vice Chair, Committee on Global Thought; Senior Advisor for Global Affairs to the President; Senior Research Scholar, School of International and Public Affairs. The conversations will be followed by a question and answer session with the audience. 

Living in an evolving time, today's global leaders are challenged with difficult obstacles shaping societies and their environments. The Committee on Global Thought and the Tällberg Foundation are collaborating to discuss these issues and determine what kind of new leadership is needed. Major support for the Tällberg leadership initiatives, as well as other activities, is provided by the Stavros Niarchos Foundation.

Welcome by:
Lee C. Bollinger, President of Columbia University in the City of New York

Introduction by:
Carol Gluck, George Sansom Professor of History; Chair, Committee on Global Thought, Columbia University
Alan Stoga, President, Zemi Communications; Senior Adviser, Kissinger Associates; Chairman, Tällberg Foundation

2017 Tällberg Foundation Global Leaders:
Rodrigo Rubido Alonso, Cofounder and Executive Director, Instituto Elos
Rebecca Heller, Director and Cofounder, International Refugee Assistance Project (IRAP)
Fiorenzo Omenetto, Dean for Research, School of Engineering; Frank C. Doble Professor of Engineering; Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Physics, and Electrical Engineering, Tufts University
Bright Simons, Founder, mPedigree; Technology Innovator and Social Activist

Moderated by:
Tom Cummings, Strategic Leadership Advisor; Senior Advisor, Global Alliance for Banking on Values; Board Member, Tällberg Foundation