Past Event

Shaping the Future - The 2018 Tällberg/Eliasson Global Leaders

April 11, 2019
6:30 PM - 8:00 PM
Teatro, Italian Academy

Living in an evolving time, today's global leaders are challenged with difficult obstacles shaping societies and their environments. The Committee on Global Thought and the Tällberg Foundation are collaborating to discuss these issues and determine what kind of new leadership is needed.

This World Leaders Forum (WLF) will feature a conversation with the 2018 winners of the Tällberg/Eliasson Global Leadership Prize, moderated by Professor Vishakha N. Desai. The Prize is awarded annually for extraordinary leadership—in any field and any country—that is courageous, optimistic, dynamic, rooted in universal values and global in application or in aspiration.

Maya Tolstoy, Interim Executive Vice President for Arts and Sciences; Interim Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences; Professor of Earth and Environmental Sciences

Alan Stoga, President, Zemi Communications; Senior Adviser, Kissinger Associates; Chairman, Tällberg Foundation

Vishakha N. Desai, Senior Advisor for Global Affairs; Senior Research Scholar in Global Studies; Adjunct Professor of International and Public Affairs

Panel Discussion Featuring 2018 Winners of the Tällberg/Eliasson Global Leadership Prize:

  • Pastor Nicolas Guérékoyame-Gbangou, President of the Evangelical Alliance of the Central African Republic; one of the founders of the Plateforme des Confessions Religieuses de Centrafrique (PCRC)
  • Sharmeen Obaid-Chinoy, Multiaward winning Pakistani filmmaker, journalist and activist
  • Rafael Yuste, Professor of Biological Sciences and Neuroscience, Columbia University in the City of New York

WLF Student Workshop with Rafael Yuste:
The Committee on Global Thought presents a session with Professor Rafael Yuste, exclusively for students from all schools at Columbia University. Space for this event is extremely limited. Students who register for this afternoon workshop will be automatically registered for WLF program. For more information and to register, click here.

Contact Information

World Leaders Forum
(212) 851-7421