Past Event

The Uruguay Round and the WTO: What Have We Achieved?

April 5, 2006
Low Memorial Library

The year 2005 marked the tenth anniversary of the World Trade Organization and its dispute-settlement system. Several members of the Appellate Body, in collaboration with academic and policy institutions, held a series of regional conferences around the world in 2005 and 2006 to mark this anniversary. In collaboration with the WTO, the North American conference was held at Columbia University in April 2006. The conference brought together an outstanding group of trade-policy leaders, academics, politicians, business leaders, and prominent experts from around the world.


Lee C. Bollinger, President, Columbia University

Keynote Address:

Jagdish Bhagwati, University Professor, Columbia University


Merit E. Janow, Professor in the Practice of International Economic Law & International Affairs, Columbia University; Member, WTO Appellate Body (Moderator)

Carla A. Hills, Chairman & CEO, Hills & Company International Consultants; Former U.S. Trade Representative

Peter Sutherland, Chairman, Goldman Sachs International; Chairman, BP p.l.c.; former Director General, GATT & WTO

Clayton Yeutter, Of Counsel, Hogan & Hartson LLP; Former U.S. Secretary of Agriculture; Former U.S. Trade Representative